IMG_8007.jpgIMG_8006.jpgIMG_8008.jpgHere are three double page spreads I found in a magazine, this is the style of magazine I hope to achieve by the end of the project. My genre will be fashion and beauty, and my audience will be mainly teenage girls interested in fashion and beauty who are wanting to learn easy quick tips/ hacks on beauty. On these three magazine double page spreads I love the way the ‘time saving secrets’ are all numbered, but in an interesting and unique way, raging the numbers in different sizes and adding products/ makeup next to/ in the numbers, still manning to make the page look neat and professional. They also include smudged/ spilt makeup all over the three double page spreads; which we would expect to look messy, reckless and unprofessional, however the magazine looks amazing, everything on the page fits in place, this is the sort of style I hope/ aspire for my magazine to look like.

beb2a97fffd899abdf9531d3d9bbabff.jpg

Here is another double page spread of design ideas that I really admire, I want my layout for my double page spread to have the black and white theme, with bold writing saying ‘black & white’ with the black writing in white and the white writing in black. The software I will make my design on is InDesign.

Screen Shot 2016-05-16 at 11.09.06.png  Celebrity Kim Kardashian’s magazine front cover for ELLE is a fashion magazine front cover which I hope for my front cover to look like – It looks classy, professional and interesting – which are all words I hope readers associate with my front cover once its finished. The black and white make the magazine classy and sophisticated, however the words ‘CONFIDENCE’ and ‘HIGH-STREET BUY OF THE SEASON’ in hot pink make the words stand out, making the readers intrigued and left wanting to read the magazine. The magazine uses direct address (‘YOU SHOULD MAKE’) which secures the attention of the readers as the direct ‘you’ is informal and personal, making the readers want to read more. The word ‘confidence’ stands out the most on the whole magazine, not only as it is in bright pink and in capital letters – the picture of the well-known celebrity Kim Kardashian is linked to the word ‘confidence’ the was she is dressed, her body posture – its like she’s telling everybody through the way she is stood and through her facial expression that she doesn’t care what people want, that she is confident in the way she looks, the shape of her body and what she eats. The magazine wants girls to feel confident, we know this as it states A smart woman’s guide to self-belief below the immense, bold and daring word confidence. Many teenagers know that a trend from 2015 was to have a perfect, slim body that people were obsessed with that others thought and didn’t feel confident and positive about their self – this magazine is to express to young girls/ teenagers that everyone should feel confident as themselves. The magazine is striking and impressive as it uses cover lines such as ‘The best foundation in the world’ this has stuck to the overall topic of fashion and beauty and has been chosen to appeal to the target audience of teenage girls aged 15-20. ‘In the world’ is striking to the reader as it makes them want to know everything about that foundation, the readers feel like they need the foundation as it is stated ‘the best in the world’. The front cover follows common codes and conventions – such as typical characteristics of a magazine front cover which include, mast head, date line, main image and cover lines. For my magazine front cover I hope to include typical characteristics of a magazine front cover such as the ones this ELLE magazine include and more such as a bar code. The main image is airbrushed to create the look of perfection on the individual being photographed, this also makes the magazine cover appear more clean and perfect. The price and the issue date is included as part of the masthead or can be placed next to the barcode. In this issue of ELLE magazine the price and date is included within the masthead. The price and date is also the smallest text on the front cover. The colour scheme for this particular ELLE magazine edition is black, white and pink. This follows the convention of a 3 colour, consistent and simplistic colour scheme

These two front cover ELLE magazines are two in which I really admire, Even though they are really different. I love the first front cover as it’s classy, simple and creative and I love the second front cover as it is so eye catching and gives off a summery vibe, which is what I aim for with my magazine. Out of the two front covers I think the first magazine displays the best image. I love that the model is stood up posing with one hand on her hip – it portrays confidence and that she is proud be feature on the front of this magazine. Her outfit matches the colour scheme and the writing has been made to fit around her, which also portrays her importance for the magazine. Comparing the two magazines is hard as they are both so different yet so similar at the same time. Both magazines colour schemes are made to be simple and consistent and are both made up of three colours (white, orange and black) and (pink, white and black) The main photograph in both front covers is shot as a medium close-up. Both pictures are brightly lit, and the model being photographed is positioned so that their posture, expression and body language create meaning. Both model’s are looking directly into the camera giving direct address as the model’s eyes will appear to follow the customer from all angles. The first front cover has a lot cover lines when compared to the second front cover, however on both front covers the first few lines of the cover lines are bold, capitalised and coloured to draw the attention of the reader, this is then followed by the sublime which explains the header. The font used for the sub line in both front covers is more subtle than the header. Both magazines trademark is the ‘ELLE’ which is also the masthead of both front covers, this is the largest writing on the page which is written in a unique , bold font. They are both at the top of the magazine front cover. In the first front cover I notice that the model is slightly covering the letter ‘L’ this is due to ‘ELLE’ being an established, recognised brand. Neither magazines include a ‘puff’ which is an offer that magazines put on their covers, a way of convincing the audience to buy the edition of the magazine, for example for my magazine I hope to include something like “was £3.99 now only £2” in order to entice and attract the audience to my magazine. The main cover line (sell line) which is usually the second largest text on the page, this texts anchors the meaning of the main image and reveals the topic of the article complimenting the image. In the second magazine front cover we see the main cover line as ‘RITA UNCOVERED’ which then links to the image as it is Rita with no top on, displaying she is physically uncovered. The outfits and background colour is purposefully chosen to compliment the colour scheme and the overall theme of the article written about the individual featured on the cover, the first front cover chose a simple white background and chose a unusual, stylish outfit to match with the cover line of ‘How to look chic’ followed by the main cover line ‘JOAN SMALLS’ in bright writing in order to display what the theme of the article is about. The second front cover also uses a simple, plain background and once again the model’s outfit is chosen to compliment the theme, which in this case is ‘Rita uncovered’. We can see that both articles are very different in the way they look however they both share similar codes and conventions.

Indesign Techniques:

 

As I didn’t feel confident enough to use Indesign straight away I decided to research Indesign techniques which will be useful when producing my magazine.  I needed to learn how to do simple tasks such as removing blemishes on my model’s face and creating text boxes in different shapes, I found this YouTube video really useful as it showed me exactly how to do that, plus I also learnt a lot more! I then looked at InDesign tips and tricks which I learnt a lot from, however I found watching a video and listening to someone talk was an easier way of learning as I could actually see the person using the techniques which made it easier for me to then follow along and do the same.

Primary & Secondary Research:

An example of a magazine that has a target audience of 16-25 year olds is Cosmopolitan. The Cosmopolitan is a magazine about fashion and beauty, which is the genre I hope my magazine to be. Cosmopolitan is a well-known, established professional magazine and online magazine which has thousands of readers therefore has a mass audience.  The magazine is popular among woman aged 18-49.

14,551,000 readers out of 16,823,000 are woman. Cosmopolitan offers beauty hacks, summer trends/ fashion trends, quizzes, celebrity news and advice on topics such as love fashion, sex, makeup/ beauty and entertainment. These all instantly appeal to the target audience of young females. According to the statistics given by the National Readership Survey 73% of GB adults 15+ consume general weekly magazines across print and online and 41% of GB adults 15+ consume general weekly magazines across print and online. I found out that ELLE magazine is one of the world biggest fashion and beauty magazines,  ELLE reaches more than 16 million highly engaged women across all mediums: print, digital, mobile and social.

 

The genre I have chosen to do my magazine on is fashion and beauty, my articles will be about makeup/ beauty tips & hacks and summer trends & fashion. I want my magazine to be fun, exciting and appealing to its target audience of 16-24 year olds, this may mean I need to use informal language in order to connect with the ‘teens’ and overall keep them interested.

I looked at research to do with child protection as for my images I needed to take pictures of a girl aged 17, as she was not under the age of 16 I did not need parental permission to allow me to take pictures of her, I just needed to make sure she was okay with it, which she was.

Audience Feedback:

For my audience reserach I made a survey for people interested in fashion and beauty aged 16-24. I created questions to gather information on what people liked/ didn’t like about my magazine. My first question was ‘Does this magazine look appealing to you?’ I got my audience to with tick ‘yes’ or ‘no’ and they could also ad an additional comment expanding on why they had chosen yes or no. 89% of people answered yes which I was extremely pleased about, I received one comment which stated “I voted yes because I think the magazine is colourful and bright” another comment read “I love the front cover of your magazine because fonts used are pretty and look good, I also think the image is very summery” I did receive one negative comment, however I do agree with what they have said which was: “I think that the magazine is okay, not amazing as the cover lines look really out of place and look like they have been randomly thrown on the page, however I like the image”. My next question was ‘Do you think the magazine front cover looks summery?’ 70% answered yes and 30% answered no, I did expect more people to answer yes however 70% is still a high percentage. I did receive one comment from that question and it was a positive comment which read “I thought the magazine front cover looked extremely summery, the model was wearing summery clothes and the background filled with trees & nature gave off the summery feel”. My third question was ‘What is your favourite feature on the front cover?’ The majority of people said that their favourite feature was the fonts used or the image. I then asked ‘What is your least favourite feature on the front cover tot his magazine?’ I received some good constructive criticism such as “I think the cover lines look a bit out of place, also you could have made them bolder/ easier to read” which I agree with, as my cover lines could have been made to stand out more. I then wanted to find out if my audience thought my magazine appeals to its target audience so I asked ‘Do you think this magazine appeals to its target audience of 16-24 year olds, and why?’ 88% of people answered yes which I was really happy with, the responces on why were “It definitely appeals to its target audience, the magazine is fun, interesting and I definitely learned a thing or two” another comment I received read “If you’re interested in fashion, beauty or makeup this magazine is perfect for you! Its so colourful and attractive”.

Due to there not being much time left I did not manage to get any feedback from an industry practitioner, this would have been really useful to me as I would have had a professional’s opinion and review on my magazine, which would have allowed me to further improve my magazine. However I did manage to ask my classmates what they thought was good about the magazine and what I could improve on. Liam said “I really like the interview on the last double page spread, even though I am a boy and don’t have any interest in makeup whatsoever I was fascinated by some of the unusual tips/ hacks! I think one thing you could improve is to keep two/ three colours throughout all the magazines, this would make the magazine look neater and more professional. I then asked Eve what she thought to my designs and she said, “I really like the images you have used, they look professional and do give off a summery vibe, I also like the article you wrote about the 2016 summer fashion trends. I think you could further improve by maybe adding more little pictures to some of the double page spreads, this would make it look better as it wouldn’t be as much writing and may keep the audience more interested”.

 

Whilst designing my front cover I was stuck between four fonts which were all simple yet looked really creative and unique, as I was stuck between 4 fonts I thought  decided to ask my target audience and let them decide as they were the ones that would be reading it. These were the four fonts I was stuck between:

Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 15.04.41.png

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 15.05.55.png

Screen Shot 2016-06-10 at 15.06.45.pngScreen Shot 2016-06-10 at 15.05.35.png

As the top font received the most number of votes I would use this font, which was called ‘Orange Juice’.

Screen Shot 2016-06-07 at 15.03.57.png

This is a double page spread which stands out and is eye catching to me, as it is sassy and striking, the model (Nicki Minaj) is confident and proud to be on the double page spread we can tell by her facial expression and the way she is stood. The columns are small and simple, containing not much writing in each, this makes it easier to read which appeals to the audience as no one wants to be reading pages and pages of writing! The main image on a double page spread will always be relevant to the article, in this case we instantly know that the image will be related to the article as it is an image of Nicki Minaj and the main heading states ‘The gospel according to Nicki Minaj’ which suggests that Nicki Minaj is holy in some sort of way or represented as a god, this could be to do with music as she is a singer.

Her name is in a Pink large font which is also the biggest text on the page, this illustrates that the whole double page spread is dedicated to her and may also suggest that her personality is big and bright. For my magazine double page spread, I hope to have my main images based on summer fashion. The main text in this double page spread is bigger than all text, this is used to draw the readers attention. I hope to have my article bright and vibrant, like this one. The background of the page and the Zebra-Print costume Nicki is wearing really contest each other, I think that using colours and also patterns that contrast each other can look really effective and appealing to the audience. The main image is almost placed in the centre to the page, which is a mid-body shot, the way her arm has been made to cover one of the letters in her name proves that as she is a massive artist, the readers will be able to know who she is without looking at her whole name. Her bright pink lipstick is is also made to mach the colour theme making the magazine article powerful. Overall the image of Nicki creates a sense of fun and mirrors the pop genre of her music. She is looking directly into the camera which entices the audience and allows them to feel connected with the artist.

The text is light-hearted and has used pull quotes to highlight the most important parts of the article, which attract readers attention to these parts. The style of this article would appeal to a younger target audience such as teenage girls due to the use of pink and the small chunks of writing. There are no shadows on the page which indicates that Nicki likes bright colours, which means the page is happy and will bring enthusiasm towards the readers.

 

Bibliography:

  • ELLE (Online) magazine – 2016 – 15/03/16 at –                                          http://www.elle.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

